The castle we see today was designed, repaired and rebuilt by Sir Andrew Kerr in 1598, at that time in Scottish history there was still a danger of further trouble and uprisings on the Border. Doors were designed to open outwards and gun holes placed strategically around the building for defence,
Although the castle walls were undermined and destroyed by a succession of assailents the original 1470 undercrofts survived and can be seen today. Converted for daily use they continue to support the main castle buildings.
The interior consists of the original grand apartments and upstairs rooms in the style of a 17th century Scottish Baronial Laird and boasts a wonderful great hall with a large decorated italianate fireplace and a tiny wood lined turret library with an original carved oak ceiling.